But is it art?

Tomorrow marks the start of a local art exhibition for Holy Week

Holy Week

It seems like no time since beloved told Me about it, and suggested that I should submit my own piece for inclusion. Now, I don’t consider Myself an artist but, as you know, I do like to work in wood from time to time and, after a little thought I decided I might try and create something artistic rather than purely practical. Rather than a completed piece I eventually decided to attempt an “Installation” (Or less pretentiously, a tableau) and, after mulling several ideas over with beloved, settled on a “Work in progress”, a snapshot of a carpenters workshop, and the beginnings of what could be a cross, a part of a manger, or part of a fisherman’s boat.

???????????????????????????????

It was daunting to have to fill this empty space, but it was chosen because I liked the enclosed feel of this area, which would, I hoped become a cramped corner of a carpenters workshop.

??????????????????????

I have titled the piece “Joseph & Son” as it seemed fitting for Holy Week to recall the fact that Jesus was a carpenter by trade, as was his father.

???????????????????????????????

I wanted to try and get as realistic a feel as possible, as far as tools and materials went, so a number of pieces were sourced. I originally planned to have the tenon cut completely in one piece, but halfway through chiselling it out I thought it told more of a story so stopped there.

???????????????????????????????

The nails are ready for who knows what

???????????????????????????????

and the tools and crude measure at hand to finish the work.

But, for My part it feels complete and, I have to say, I feel very happy with the way it has worked out. I hope that those who go see it, enjoy it as well. I urge you, if you are around Bearsden this week to drop in and view ALL the works that are there, some of which are truly stunning.

I enjoyed creating this, as to whether it is art or not I leave it to you to decide.

One thought on “But is it art?

  1. I went to New Kilpatrick Church today to see ALL the works now in place. I am happy to say that, in that context, yes, it is art. In context with all the other works it does not look or feel out of place, though it is far from the best piece there. There is so much to see and ponder on that I urge you, if you have the chance to pop along and see for yourself. The exhibition itself has been extended so that some pieces will still be on display through the weekend and into next week, BUT some will be removed starting tomorrow so time is running out!

Leave a Reply

Adopt a Model

eyvallah beğenene, beğenmeyenin canı cehenneme

Plane Dave

World War II with Scale Models

My Forgotten Hobby

Let's build... It's never too late

MEAT FILLED PASTRIES

THIS IS PIE. THESE ARE MY PASTRIES. LET THE GREASE HIT MY ELBOW AND THE GRAVY SMATTER MY FACE.

Shortfinals's Blog

A blog about life, aviation, and everything. Contents © Shortfinals and AirShowConsultants; all rights reserved!

Leading The Line

Because Sometimes There's More to Life Than Pies.

amateur airplanes

Let's build.

Still Striving For that Elusive Halo

Thoughts, photographs, recipes and paintings of an Episcopal priest

Flying the Camel

Large and small projects and thoughts

